Posted by Adam Roberts on 09 Feb 2017 09:39
Last Modified by Adam Roberts on 18 Sep 2017 11:39
Understanding Product Archiving
There may be multiple reasons why you may wish to hide certain products from your inventory, purchase orders, and listings, such as a current lack of availability, to clear away promotional or seasonal products that are only required at certain times of the year, or simply to tidy your interface.
This process is referred to as archiving, and be be performed in multiple ways.
The archiving process can be reversed at any time by choosing to 'unarchive' a product.
Archiving products individually
To archive an individual product, navigate to ('Products'>'Manage Products'). From here, you can filter as usual to find the product you wish to archive. When you hover the mouse over the product, three options will appear: 'Edit', 'Delete', and 'Archive'.
Select 'Archive' and a popup will appear asking you to confirm. Click 'Okay' and the product will be archived.
Additionally, you can choose to archive or unarchive a product at any time by clicking a product to go to the 'Product Information' page, and then by clicking the 'Archive Product' button as shown:
Archiving products in bulk
On the same 'Product Manager' page, you can select multiple products by checking the boxes to the left of each product row. When you click the drop down box above the column titles, you will be able to select from five options: 'Archive', 'Clone', 'Delete, 'Export', and 'Unarchive'.
The products will then be removed from your inventory.
Filtering for archived products
On your 'Manage Products' page, you can filter for all of the products that you have marked as archived. The 'archived' column is usually the rightmost column on the page, depending on which columns you have selected to be visible. If you cannot see the column, you can use the filter tools icon to ensure 'Archived' is selected, as shown:
Click the checkbox on the 'Archived' column, and you will be presented with the options 'No,' 'Yes', and 'All'.
No: Archived products will not be displayed
Yes: Archived products will be displayed
All: All products will be displayed
You can reverse the archiving processes at any time.